Top Story
You are Visitor No. 02281689
An Abstract of District Police Sargodha

Police in Pakistan are a Provincial Chapter. Like 35 other Districts in the largest Punjab Province, the District Police Sargodha is an integral unit of Punjab Police, the latter being headed by an Inspector General of Police. Sargodha District Police is subdivided into 27 Police Stations. A Police Station is the smallest Unit, although some large Police Stations may have one or two satellite Police Posts. The head of each Police Station is an Officer of the rank of Inspector, called Station House Officer (SHO). A group of Police Stations constitute a Police Sub-division which is supervised by an officer of the rank of Asstt/ Deputy Superintendent of Police (ASP/DSP). The present strength of the District Police is 1898 Constables, 253 Head Constables, 382 Investigators (Sub-Inspector & Asstt Sub-Inspector Rank), 41 Inspectors, 09 DSPs and one Assistant Superintendent of Police (U.T). The District Police is headed by a District Police Officer of the rank of Superintendent of Police. Since its inception, 60 officers have commanded the District Police. Presently Raja Basharat Mahmood is the head of the District Police. The District Police is operationally augmented by district detachments of other Wings of the Provincial Police, like Elite (Commando Units), Counter-terrorism Department (CTD), Special Branch (The Intelligence Wing), Punjab Highway Patrol (PHP) and Traffic Police. These district detachments of these specialised Wings of the Police are headed by an officer of the rank of DSP, who report to the Provincial Police Headquarter (PHQ), but also are responsible to the District Head in all local/ operational matters.

By: Capt (R) Sohail Choudhry, District Police Officer, Sargodha

RPO Sargodha Says:
protection of life, property and prestige of citizens is the prime duty of police and we will ensure sincere efforts to control crime
Our Partners in Community Policing